Table of Contents
Wyoming CPA Exam Requirements
Are you confused about the Wyoming CPA exam requirements or are you thinking about becoming a licensed CPA in Wyoming? Candidates must meet the qualifications set forth by the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants (BOCPA) in order to sit for the Uniform CPA Exam or get a CPA license. Furthermore, to obtain a Wyoming CPA license, candidates must meet the state’s unique education, exam, and experience qualifications.
How to Save Yourself MONTHS of Time and Frustration
Keep in mind that the CPA exam is the one part of getting your CPA license that you can control how long it takes. The education and experience requirements take as long as they take, but the CPA exams can take you as little as 6 months, or as long as multiple years… depending on how effective your study process is from the beginning.
Learn how to study strategically so you can save yourself tons of time and retake fees with this free training…
Summary of Wyoming CPA Requirements
|Credit hours to sit for the CPA exam||120|
|Age requirement for the CPA exam||18|
|Bachelor’s required to sit for the CPA exam||Yes|
|Credit hours in accounting subjects to sit for the CPA exam||24|
|Credit hours in business subjects to sit for the CPA exam||24|
|Total credit hours to receive a CPA license||150|
|Work experience required to receive a CPA license||1 Year|
|Ethics exam required to get a CPA license||Yes|
|Valid Social Security Number||Yes|
Eligibility Requirements for Wyoming CPA Exam Requirements
For CPA candidates to be eligible to sit for the CPA exam in Wyoming, they must meet the following requirements:
- Should be at least 18 years of age
- Must be a Wyoming resident
- Not necessary to be a US citizen
- Obtain a Social Security number
- Must comply with the residency requirements:
- Valid Wyoming address
- Wyoming state driver’s license
- Employed in Wyoming with a valid, documented, and accepted offer of employment in the state within six months of the application date
- A student at Wyoming community college or university
Wyoming Educational Requirements
The first main requirement for the CPA exam is the Wyoming CPA education requirements or credentials. In order to sit for all four parts of the CPA Exam in Wyoming, candidates must meet all academic requirements for licensure.
According to the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants, candidates for the Wyoming CPA Exam must have a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution or university with an accounting concentration or major. Candidates must additionally finish 150 semester hours in accounting courses with a focus.
- Have completed at least 24 semester hours of accounting courses in one or more of the following areas:
- Cost Accounting
- Accounting Theory
- Forensic Accounting
- Financial Accountancy
- Have completed at least 24 semester hours of business courses in one or more of the following areas:
- Business law
- Business communications
- Information systems
- Technical writing
Remember: Internships may count for up to six (6) semester hours toward the accounting or business courses matter requirements.
Wyoming Uniform CPA Examination
Submit your exam application to the Wyoming state board, together with the requisite fee and academic transcripts, if you’ve completed all of the educational requirements. You can contact your school’s registrar, pay a transcript fee, and have the sealed, official documents sent to the following address:
- Wyoming Board of CPAs
2022 Carey, Suite 702
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0610
Applicants having foreign academic credentials must have their transcripts examined by NASBA International Evaluation Services (NIES) or another organization designated by the board.
For a detailed application procedure, please visit the Wyoming website. Additionally, complete the Request for Disabilities Accommodation form to receive the necessary service.
CPA Exam Components
The CPA exam is challenging, and many people fail on their first attempt. In fact, up to half of all test takers will have to retake the entire test or portions of it. As a result, you might choose to look for an entry-level accounting employment while studying for the exam.
You must pass the following four parts:
- Financial Accounting and Reporting – This section contains financial reporting frameworks developed by a number of industry specialists. Candidates are expected to evaluate and contrast statements that reflect various reporting standards.
- Auditing and Attestation – This section assesses your understanding of both international and domestic auditing standards.
- Regulation – This test covers regulation–ethics, as well as your professional and legal duties.
- Business Environment and Concepts – In this section, you will learn about common business concepts as well as international business. If you wish to accomplish much of this section, you’ll need to brush up on your written communication skills.
Wyoming CPA Exam Cost Breakdown
The Wyoming CPA exam cost consists of three main fees: an initial application fee of $110, the $226.15 per CPA exam section totaling $905 for all four sections, and the Original Certificate Application which is $225.
|Examination Application Fee||$110.00|
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$226.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$226.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$226.15|
|Total for all 4 CPA Exam Sections||$905.00|
|Original Certificate Application||$225.00|
Wyoming CPA Exam Application Process
Candidates will get a Notice to Schedule (NTS) after submitting a successful state application. The NTS will be valid for one testing event or six months, whichever comes first. A valid NTS is required for scheduling an examination appointment.
Candidates should contact Prometric to schedule an examination after they obtain their NTS. Prometric handles all testing appointment scheduling, rescheduling, and cancellations.
Prometric, which operates test facilities in the following Wyoming cities, administers the computerized Uniform CPA Exam:
- Casper (307-472-0030)
- Cheyenne (307-778-4313)
- Laramie (307-766-2188)
The first-come, first-served policy applies to appointments. This means you should plan your exam as soon as possible to ensure you obtain the place, day, and time you choose. There is no “walk-in” testing since you must schedule your exam at least 6 days in advance of the exam date.
The average pass percentage for any individual component of the exam is now about 50%, which is a good estimate of how challenging the exam is.
Wyoming CPA Ethics Exam Requirements
To meet the Wyoming CPA ethics exam requirements, a candidate will have to complete and pass the course and exam from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) titled Professional Ethics: The AICPA’s Comprehensive Course (For Licensure). This is a self-study course and a candidate must pass the ethics exam with at least a 90% score to qualify for a CPA license.
Wyoming CPA Experience Requirements
In addition to the above-mentioned educational qualifications, the Wyoming Board of Public Accountancy mandates that you have a particular amount of work experience before applying for a CPA license.
To meet the Wyoming CPA experience requirements, candidates require 2,000 hours or 12 months of experience in auditing, attestation, taxation, cost or financial accounting, and consulting. Experience can be gained by full-time or part-time employment in public accounting, industry, government, or academia and must be completed during a 1 – 4 year period with a minimum of 1,800 hours.
Wyoming CPA License Requirements
You’ll be eligible to apply for your CPA license after passing the CPA exam and satisfying all of the academic and job experience requirements listed above. You must complete and fulfill the 3E’s in order to obtain your CPA license:
- Bachelor’s degree with at least 150 semester hours is required.
- Pass each section of the CPA exam with a minimum score of 75.
- At least one year of full-time accounting work experience is required.
To apply for a CPA license, you must be at least 18 years old, a Wyoming resident, and have a valid Social Security number.
After passing the CPA Exam and satisfying all other requirements, make sure to send your application to the Wyoming State Board of Accountancy, together with the needed fees and paperwork.
Your college transcripts will be on file if you submitted them as part of your CPA exam application. If you didn’t meet the educational qualifications for licensing when you applied to take the CPA Exam, you’ll merely need to provide additional transcripts.
Congratulations if you’ve completed the steps outlined above. You should be on your way to earning your CPA license!
Wyoming Continuing Professional Education (CPE)
To renew their license in Wyoming, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing education over a three-year period. Furthermore, they should only enroll in programs offered by Wyoming regulatory and professional ethics course providers who have been approved by the Wyoming board of education.
CPAs in Wyoming are required to renew their license every three years. The cycle runs every three years, from January 1 to December 31.
The following are the CPE requirements:
- At least 4 hours must be focused on ethics.
- 80 of the 120 hours must be spent in the following areas:
- Accounting and auditing
- Business law
- Administrative practice
- Regulatory ethics
- Business management and organization
- Finance (financial planning)
- Management advisory services
- Specialized knowledge and application
- Computer science or software applications
- A maximum of 40 hours out of a total of 120 hours may be spent in:
- Behavioral ethics
- Personal development
- Personnel/human resources
- Other fields of study may be permitted if the licensee can show that the course does not qualify under a specific field but contributes to professional competence.
Congratulations to all who passed the Wyoming CPA exam and obtained their license! You’ve achieved the most famous and well-known accounting certification in the world. Now is the time to decide on your area of specialization and start networking.
Wyoming CPA Exam F.A.Q.s
Here are some commonly asked questions regarding Wyoming’s CPA exam and CPA licensure requirements.
What Are the Requirements to Sit for the CPA Exam in Wyoming?
To sit for the CPA exam in Wyoming, you must be 18 years of age you must have either have a driver’s license OR have a current and valid Wyoming street address OR employed in Wyoming or have a valid, documented and accepted the offer of employment with a Wyoming CPA firm or other Wyoming employer that will begin within six months of the application date OR be a current student at a Wyoming community college or the University of Wyoming (UW) AND transcript of educational requirements from the college or university. With a minimum of 24 semester hours in accounting and 24 semester hours in business subjects.
You can refer to this document for the detailed list of courses.
How Long Does it Take to Become a CPA in Wyoming?
You will need to attain the full 150 semester hours required nationwide. This is roughly five years of education, then one year to take and pass the CPA exam, and then one year to meet the experience requirement. That makes a total of 6-7 years to get your CPA license. Once you have met all the requirements and have submitted your application to receive your CPA license from the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants, if approved you will receive your license in the mail within 3-4 weeks.
How Much Does It Cost to Take the CPA Exam in Wyoming?
The total cost of the CPA exam for an aspiring CPA in Wyoming is $1,014.60, this is considering that you pass all exams on the first try. The breakdown of the cost is $110 for the application fee and $904.60 exam fee for all four sections of the exam ($226.15 per section). The cost for re-examination is $50 regardless of the number of test sections requested.
How Many CPAs are in Wyoming?
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) as per the May 2021 data, there are currently around 2,000 accountants in Wyoming with an annual salary of $71,920.
Do CPA Scores Expire in Wyoming?
Regardless of the state, once a CPA candidate passes their first CPA exam section, they then have 18 months to pass the remaining three CPA exam sections to complete the Uniform CPA Examination. Once a CPA candidate has passed the Uniform CPA Examination, their scores never expire in Wyoming.
How Many Accounting Credits Do You Need to Sit for the CPA License in Wyoming?
You must complete at least 24 semester hours in accounting and 24 semester hours in business subjects. Have completed at least 24 semester hours of accounting courses in auditing, taxation, cost accounting, accounting, theory, attestation, forensic accounting, and financial accountancy.
Does Wyoming Require an Ethics Exam for the CPA?
Yes, the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants requires all candidates applying for the CPA license must complete at least 8 hours in length the AICPA ethics examination or its equivalent. With a minimum score of 90% to pass the test.
You can get the AICPA Ethics Exam here.