Table of Contents
Nevada CPA Exam Requirements
If you want to advance your career and become a CPA, you’ll find here the Nevada CPA Exam Requirements. The CPA designation is considered to be a mark of high competency by employers. Individuals who obtain the Certified Public Accountant title undergo numerous processes but they are mainly of the three: Education, Examination and Experience. Certain requirements apply to each jurisdiction and Nevada residents who wish to partake in the CPA exam can use this article for reference.
How to Save Yourself MONTHS of Time and Frustration
Keep in mind that the CPA exam is the one part of getting your CPA license that you can control how long it takes. The education and experience requirements take as long as they take, but the CPA exams can take you as little as 6 months, or as long as multiple years… depending on how effective your study process is from the beginning.
Learn how to study strategically so you can save yourself tons of time and retake fees with this free training…
Summary of Nevada CPA Requirements
|Credit Hours to sit for the CPA Exam||120|
|Credit Hours in Upper-level Accounting course to sit for the CPA Exam||21|
|Credit Hours in Business Law to sit for the CPA Exam||3|
|Bachelor’s Required to sit for the CPA Exam||Yes|
|Credit Hours to receive a CPA License||150|
|Credit Hours in Upper-level Accounting course to sit for the CPA license||30|
|Credit Hours in Business course to sit for the CPA license||24|
|Moral Character Reference (3 Individuals)||Yes|
|Work Experience||1 – 4 Years|
|Required CPE Hours Every Two Years||80|
To meet the Nevada CPA education requirements, applicants must have a bachelor’s degree that includes 150 credits, and included in the 150 credits shall have to be 30 semester credits in accounting courses above the introductory level, 3-semester credits of business law and 24-semester credits in business at the undergraduate or graduate level where the courses must be in areas other than accounting.
For the CPA Exam:
If you do not have an Accounting Major you will need to provide evidence of completion of the following courses:
- 21 semester credits in Accounting courses above the introductory level. Subjects to be covered include:
- Financial Accounting (Intermediate I, II, III or advanced): 9 Credits
- Cost Accounting: 3 Credits
- Auditing: 3 Credits
- Federal Income Tax: 3 Credits
- Business Law: 3 Credits
As a general standard, the Nevada State Board of Accountancy requires candidates to complete a Bachelor’s Degree that includes 150 hours (credits) of education in order to sit for the CPA exam.
Along with the 150 semester hours, the candidates must include the following:
- 30 semester hours of accounting courses above the introductory level. Courses covering Financial Accounting (9 credits), Cost Accounting (3 credits), Auditing (3 credits), Federal Income Tax (3 credits) and Accounting Electives (12 credits).
- 3 semester hours of Business Law.
- 24 semester hours in business courses at the undergraduate or graduate level. Courses to be covered include:
- Behavior of Organizations
- Business Finance
- Business Law
- Data Processing
- Ethics in Business
- Oral Communication
- Quantitative Applications in Business
- Legal & Social Environment
Foreign transcripts are accepted provided that it gives a detailed listing of each course indicating the U.S. equivalency of the semester hours in order to apply for the 15o hour requirement.
Credits earned by candidates outside the Nevada jurisdiction must arrange for the transfer of their grades. The grades will only be accepted provided the state has standards and requirements equivalent to the requirements of Nevada. An Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Information form will be required.
Transcript evaluations will be made by Board-approved foreign evaluation providers. All transcripts must be mailed directly from the university to the foreign evaluation service. The transcript evaluation must show a course-by-course breakdown.
Official transcripts can be sent electronically by the University or College to firstname.lastname@example.org or mailed to the address:
Nevada State Board of Accountancy
1325 Airmotive Way
Reno, NV 89502
Nevada CPA Exam Requirements
Uniform CPA Examination Application and Fees
The Nevada CPA exam cost consists of five main fees: the initial examination application of $100, the CPA exam registration which cost $50, $238.15 per CPA exam section totaling $952.60 for all four sections, the CPA license application fee of $240, and the renewal fee of $120 to $140.
Candidates who have completed their education requirements may start the Uniform CPA exam application process. Certain fees apply and are payable to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.
There are two kinds of applicants:
- Initial Applicants. These are candidates who have never taken the CPA exam, previously taken the exam in another state but have not earned credits or those who’ve taken the exam in another state and wish to have their credits transferred to Nevada.
- Re-exam Applicants. These have previously sat for the CPA exam as a Nevada candidate.
- Initial Application Fee – $100
- Re-exam Fee – $50
Additional testing fees are required by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) based on the sections you are applying for in the CPA exam.
The exam consists of four sections and each is four hours long. These sections and examination fees are:
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
Applicants will have to apply for the CPA exam through the Nevada State Board website. The board accepts Visa, MasterCard and American Express payments.
This service will allow applicants to pay for the CPA exam fees via a NASBA payment coupon. It will be sent via the contact which you indicated in your registration. You need to receive this first since you cannot pay for the exam fees without it.
Both a payment coupon and credit card will be used to proceed.
Notice to Schedule NTS
Once it is determined that you’re eligible to take the CPA exam, the Nevada State Board will send an Authorization To Test (ATT) to the National Candidate Database (NCD) at NASBA. The fees mentioned above must be paid to NASBA within 6 months after ATT is sent.
Soon after the fees are paid, NASBA will issue a Notice to Schedule via email which has the validity of 6 months. If your NTS expires, you will be required to submit a re-exam application to the Nevada Board in order to obtain a new NTS.
When a candidate receives their NTS, they are required to contact Prometric for the site locations and test times.
Candidates can sit in any of the Prometric test sites in any state. Nevada currently has two testing centers at the following addresses:
Sylvan Learning Center
5250 Neil Road, Suite 110
Reno NV 89502
Sylvan Learning Center
2190 E. Pebble Road, Suite 220
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Scheduling and Taking the Uniform CPA Exam
Scheduling. Receiving your NTS documents means applicants can now schedule their Uniform CPA exam. NASBA recommends scheduling appointments at least 45 days prior to the date on which you wish to sit for the examination/s.
This will then be processed by the Nevada State Board and forwarded to NASBA within 5 days of receiving the completed application and transcripts. Applicants are allowed to apply to more than one section at a time.
Exam. It is recommended that candidates visit the AICPA website to give a better understanding and familiarity with the computerized format prior to sitting for the CPA exam. AICPA provides resources such as an exam tutorial, a practice test and a Candidate Bulletin. It will include free test tips and free access to professional literature.
Here are some access to helpful online resources:
- CPA Exam Candidates: Free Online Access to Professional Literature Package
- CPA Exam candidates can get a free six-month subscription to professional literature used in the computerized CPA examination. This online package includes:
- AICPA Professional Standards
- FASB Current Text
- FASB Original Pronouncements
For more information and Internet links, go to AICPA and navigate to Prepare for the Exam.
Sitting for the exam, candidates are expected to pass all four sections with a score of 75 for each section and you are only allowed 18 months to complete all four.
To view your exam scores, click here.
CPA License Requirements in Nevada
After passing the CPA exam, you will receive your CPA certificate. This is not yet a CPA license. Further experience is required for the licensure.
Nevada CPA Experience Requirements
To meet the Nevada CPA experience requirements, candidates will need to comply with either of the following:
- Two years of full-time employment performing any combination of the approved tasks in a partnership, corporation, LLC or sole proprietorship engaged in the practice of public accounting; or
- Four years of full-time employment performing any combination of the approved tasks in a governmental or other industry position that is substantially equivalent to a position in the practice of public accounting; or
- Any combination of public accounting or governmental/industry.
A list of approved and tasks not allowed experience will be found on the Nevada Board of Accountancy website.
All experience must be supervised by a person engaged in active practice as a certified public accountant who has the knowledge and has a higher level of responsibility of the subject tasks.
Applicants must complete and submit a form verifying the experience requirements to the board as proof. These must be signed by one or more CPAs who supervised the applicant’s work and can certify their character, extent and nature of work.
Nevada CPA Ethics Exam Requirements
To meet the Nevada CPA ethics exam requirements, candidates are required to pass an examination in professional ethics taken within the past 3 years prior to the license application. The Nevada Board does not have any specific ethics course however, it is recommended to take the course and exam under “Professional Ethics: The AICPA’s Comprehensive Course (For Licensure)” which is administered by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). The course is self-study and the exam should be passed with a score of 90% or higher.
Candidates are also required to obtain four hours of ethics course continuing education during each rolling 2 year period.
The board does not require a specific ethics course. These can be taken through a live seminar or independent study. Offered courses can be found by visiting the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.
If you have not taken the ethics exam or the last one taken is over 3 years old, the exam may be ordered through the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPA’s (1-888-777-7077) or PES Ethics & Professional Conduct (1-800-990-2731).
There are 3 types of applications for certificates:
- Nevada Examinee Original Certification – for individuals who passed the exam in Nevada and are not licensed.
- Original Certification – for individuals who passed the exam in another state and are not licensed.
- Reciprocity – for individuals who are licensed in another state.Reciprocity is licensure based on the application of Nevada’s experience and education requirements at the time originally licensed. Even if you are licensed in another state, it does not guarantee licensure in Nevada. Contact the boards office for more information related to your situation.
The information below must be provided to complete your file prior to board consideration and approval:
- Complete application in full which includes notarization.
- Application Fee of $240. Checks should be made payable to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy. Credit cards are also accepted. Click here for the payment form.
- A recent 2″ x 2″ photo. Photocopies of photographs are not acceptable.
The board is mandated to conduct an Investigation of the Criminal History of all applicants for certification as provided in NAC 628.019. by fingerprint cards.
Details of the electronic fingerprint are available here.
Maintain Experience Records
Applicants are responsible for maintaining their experience records and supporting documents for 3 years after acquiring their certified public account certificate as these will be inspected by the board.
CPAs who signed an applicant’s form verifying their experience shall have to keep any records and supporting documents for 3 years as well for the board’s inspection and review.
Moral Character References
Moral character reference forms will be signed by individuals who verify an applicant’s fiscal integrity. This should not be signed by a relative of the applicant.
Continuing Professional Education
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours should be completed in the two calendar years prior to the year during which a license is to be renewed.
CPE is reported annually on a reporting form that includes:
- Name of Sponsoring Progam
- Location of the Program
- Title of the Program/Content Description
- Attended Dates
- Number of Hours of Credit Claimed
All licensed CPAs in Nevada must complete 80 hours of CPE credits over a rolling two-year period.
The board reviews the amount of last year’s hours including the year completed. A minimum of 20 hours is due in one year. The total number of hours claimed should equal a minimum of 80 hours.
If for example, an applicant has accomplished 80 hours in one year, it does not mean you are exempted for the next year. Twenty hours is required per year.
Continuing Education Allowable
During the CPE, applicants are responsible for documenting the program acceptability and validity of the credits.
For credit courses on educational programs attended, semester hour credit equals 15 hours toward the requirement. Each quarter hour credit equals 10 hours toward the requirement. For non-credit courses, each classroom hour equals one hour toward the requirement.
Credits for formal correspondence or individual study programs may be claimed upon meeting all the requirements of the continuing education regulations. Credit may be claimed only for courses completed within the calendar year. The column “Dates Attended” on the back of the form should reflect the date on the completion certificate provided by the sponsor of the program.
For speaker, discussion leader or instructor, actual preparation time is acceptable to double the presentation time. An example of this is: a total of three hours is allowable for a presentation qualifying for one hour of in-class credit.
Accounting and Auditing
Nevada board now requires applicants Accounting and Auditing continuing education for license renewal. If an applicant has taken part in any audit, review, full disclosure compilation or attestation in the past 12 months; they will then be required to complete 8 hours in CPE that focuses on accounting and auditing.
The applicants will then be asked on the renewal form if they have participated in this type of engagement and if so have completed the 8 hours of CPE.
A Certified Public Accountant’s annual permit to engage in the practice of pubic accounting expires every 31st of December. These permits must be renewed and postmarked by January 31st.
Nevada board renewal can be accessed by the following with fees:
Paying by Credit Card
If you submit your renewal online, the renewal fee will be $120.
The Board will accept credit cards via online submission only.
The board accepts Visa, Mastercard & American Express.
Paying by Check or Money Order
If you submit your renewal by mail the renewal fee will be $140.
Make checks or money orders made payable to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.
Applicants must complete their renewal form and verify with the following information:
- Update the name, address and telephone number in the boxes provided.
- Complete the CPE Verification and CPE Reporting Form sections of the renewal form.
- Answer the Child Support information that includes your social security number.
- Answer all of the Self Reporting questions.
- Sign & Date the Renewal Form
If the postmark or submission is after January 31, 2022 a late fee of $100 will be assessed. A postmark is a post office cancellation stamp.
For a list of all the forms for the Nevada CPA requirements, please visit here.
All these requirement demands are great but so are CPA positions, especially in high-ranking ones. Professionals who earn their Certified Public Accountant title land credibility easily and are well-respected in any industry. Being licensed CPAs is an important career step and those that have it can leverage their own reputation or personal services.
Nevada CPA Exam F.A.Q.s
Below are the commonly asked questions about the Nevada CPA exam and CPA license requirements:
What are the requirements to sit for the CPA exam in Nevada?
To meet the Nevada CPA exam requirements, an applicant should either be a resident or an employee in the state and must have completed a bachelor’s degree from an accredited with a major in accounting or met the credits in accounting courses.
How many accounting credits do you need to sit for the CPA license in Nevada?
Nevada applicants need to obtain 150 semester hours of education with 30 hours of
specific accounting courses above introductory level, 3 hours of business law and 24 semester hours in general business.
How do I register to take the CPA exam in Nevada?
To be able to take the CPA exam, fulfill first the education requirements for Nevada. Apply and submit your application to the Nevada website and send transcripts to the board’s address. Once your complete application is approved, the board will inform NASBA and they will issue a Notice to Schedule (NTS). The NTS lets you schedule your exams with Prometric and is one of the important documents to be presented upon taking the exam.
How much is the CPA exam in Nevada?
During the application for the exam, first-time applicants are required to pay an application fee of $100 and an examination fee of $238.15 for each section. There are four (4) exam sections and would total to $1,052.60 for first-time applicants. Applicants can re-apply for the exam and re-examination applicants will need to pay a re-examination registration fee of $50 along with the exam section they wish to re-take.
Does Nevada require an ethics exam for the CPA?
Nevada does require an ethics exam upon obtaining your initial license. The ethics exam is an 8-hour comprehensive course and an examination covering the Professional Ethics: AICPA’s Comprehensive Course that is For Licensure. Applicants have to score 90% or better on the exam.
Do CPA exam scores expire in Nevada?
As with all states, once a CPA candidate passes their first CPA exam section, they will only have 18 months to pass the remaining three CPA exam sections to complete the Uniform CPA Examination. Once a CPA candidate has passed the Uniform CPA Examination, their scores never expire in Nevada.
How long does it take to become a CPA in Nevada?
Applicants can take the CPA exam with only 120 semester hours. However, with the required credit of 150 semester hours to apply for a license, that’s already around 5 years for education alone. Another year would be for taking and passing the exams. After passing the exam, two more years are required for the mandatory experience in order to be eligible to apply for the license. That’s roughly 7 to 8 years to acquire the license and be a Certified Public Accountant in Nevada.