How to Become a CPA in Louisiana

How to Become a CPA in Louisiana

Share This...

If you’re wondering how to become a CPA in Louisiana, we’ve organized the Louisiana CPA exam requirements below.

1. Educational Requirements

To meet the Louisiana requirements to sit for the CPA exam, the Louisiana CPA education requirements must be attained first. For Louisiana applicants, you must have a bachelor’s degree or higher and have completed an accounting concentration including 24 semester hours about introductory level or 21 semester hours at graduate level with 3 semester hours in cost accounting, 3 semester hours in income tax accounting, 3 semester hours in auditing covering public accounting attest and assurance services, 3 semester hours in either advanced financial accounting, not-for-profit accounting or accounting theory, and 6 semester hours in additional accounting above the introductory level. Must also complete 24 semester hours of business courses other than accounting, including at least 3 semester hours in business law exclusively covering the Uniform Commercial Code and forms of commercial transactions

Take note that applicants must have maintained continuous residence (physical presence) in Louisiana for a period of not less than 120 days within the one year period preceding the date of the initial examination. Students are exempted provided they return home when not taking classes, e.g., summer, holidays, etc.

2. Set up your NASBA Account

The first step to determining your eligibility is to register an account at CPA Central.

3. Apply for a NASBA Advisory Evaluation

Then submit the necessary educational requirements to NASBA Advisory Evaluation at CPA Central and pay the $145 initial application fee.

4. Submit Transcripts

You would need to have your college or university send your official transcripts through mail at:

CPA Examination Services – LA
PO Box 198469
Nashville, TN 37219

Or email it at etranscript@nasba.org

5. Pay NASBA Fees

Once your educational requirements have been approved by NASBA advisory evaluation, NASBA will then send you an email notifying you that your payment coupon is ready for payment. You have 90 days to pay the fee.

Click here to see a breakdown of the Louisiana CPA exam costs.

6. Notice To Schedule

Upon payment for the examination fees, you will receive a receipt of your NTS. Make sure that everything is correct as it will be used at the testing centers. If the names do not match, immediately contact the Board to request a correction. You will not be allowed to test if the name on the identification documents does not exactly match the name on the NTS.

With the NTS, then you can schedule your actual exam on the Prometric website at www.prometric.com.
You will have six months to apply and sit for your first portion of the CPA exam.

7. Pass the CPA Exam

You must score a minimums score of 75 to pass the exam and once you have passed the first CPA exam section, you’ll have 18 months to pass the remaining 3 sections.

8. Complete your Education Requirements

After passing the Uniform CPA Examination, you must complete the appropriate education requirements to become a licensed CPA, which totals 150 semester hours with a graduate degree.

If you want detailed information on the required coursed, you can check it at the State Board of Certified Public Accountants of Louisiana.

You would need to have your college or university re-send your official transcripts to be re-evaluated through mail at:

CPA Examination Services – LA
PO Box 198469
Nashville, TN 37219

Or email it at etranscript@nasba.org

9. Meet the Experience Requirements

The Louisiana CPA experience requirement must involve the use of accounting, attest, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills. It must be of sufficient complexity and diversity, and be verified by a licensed CPA. The experience may be from employment in public practice, private industry, non-profit, or government and must be at least one year of full-time or 2,000 hours part-time experience, or a combination of these.

Also, you must be 18 years of age and of good moral character to be able to get a CPA license in Louisiana.

10. Apply for your Louisiana CPA License

After you have completed your professional education, passed the exams, and retain the necessary work experience, you have fulfilled a majority of the CPA exam requirements. You’ll need to complete the Application for Certificate (License) as a Certified Public Accountant form and the $100 certification application fee.

While most states require ethics before licensing, Louisiana candidates can become a CPA without it as there are no Louisiana CPA ethics exam requirements.

11. Receiving your Louisiana CPA License

Now that you have completed all the necessary steps to be a Certified Public Accountant in Louisiana. You will be notified by the State Board of Certified Public Accountants of Louisiana of any missing documents in your application. If the application is complete, you’ll be issued a license allowing you to practice. Your certificate will be sent to you through the mail.

Estimated Cost: 905 USD

Other Posts You'll Like...

Want to Pass as Fast as Possible?

(and avoid failing sections?)

Watch one of our free "Study Hacks" trainings for a free walkthrough of the SuperfastCPA study methods that have helped so many candidates pass their sections faster and avoid failing scores...

Scroll to Top
[523.251,1046.50]
[523.251,1046.50]