How to Become a CPA in Alaska

How to Become a CPA in Alaska

Share This...

If you’re wondering how to become a CPA in Alaska, we’ve organized the Alaska CPA exam requirements below.

1. Meet the Education Requirements to Sit for the CPA Exam

To sit for the CPA exam in Alaska, you must meet ONE of the following set of Alaska CPA education requirements:
1. Have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from a university or college approved by the Alaska Board of Accountancy, have coursework concentrated in accounting such as 24 semester hours in Accounting, three semester hours in Business Law, three semester hours in Economics, three semester hours in Math, Statistics or Computer Science.
2. Meet 18 semester credit hours or 27 quarter credit hours of undergraduate educational requirements within the Alaska Board of Accountancy regulations and complete 15 semester hours in Accounting.
3. Has a degree in progress and accounting which includes 18 hours of completing a bachelor’s degree or equivalent and completion of 15 semester hours in Accounting.
4. Have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from a university or college approved by the Alaska Board of Accountancy and completion of one-year public accounting experience under the direct supervision of a CPA. 

NOTE: You must submit a Verification of Supervised Work Experience form and a Verification of Licensure for CPA Supervisor form if you want to qualify based on experience. 
Advanced degrees are not accepted in lieu of a bachelor’s degree. You must provide evidence of completion of a bachelor’s degree.

2. Apply for the CPA Exam

You need to create an account at https://cpacentral.nasba.org/ and submit all the educational transcript(s), Certificate of Enrolment, and International Evaluation, Testing Accommodations Request Form, Verification of Licensure for CPA Supervisor Form, Verification of Supervised Work Experience form (if applicable) to CPA Examination Services.
If you are a first-time applicant, you are required to pay both an application fee of $185 and an examination fee of $226.15 per section at the time of application. If you are a re-examination candidate, you are required to pay both a registration fee of $90 and an examination fee of $226.15 per section at the time of registration.

Click here to see a breakdown of the Alaska CPA exam costs.

3. Sign Up for the Exam

Once your application has been approved, you can select the CPA exam that you want to take and pay the necessary fees using NASBA’s CPA Central website. Once you receive the Notice to Schedule (NTS), you may visit Prometric to schedule your exam/s.

4. Pass the CPA Exams

The Uniform CPA exam is composed of four different sections, and you must pass all sections with a score of 75 or higher. After passing the first section, you then must pass the remaining three sections within 18 months.

6. Meet the Experience Requirements

To meet the Alaska CPA experience requirements, candidates must have two years in a public accountancy firm and three years in a private or government firm.

7. Apply for your CPA License

Once you have met all the requirements, you may apply to get your license through NASBA’s online CPA licensing system.

8. Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

Alaska requires the licensee to complete 80 hours of continuing professional education within the two-year license period, have at least 20 hours must be completed within each year of that two-year period, and at least four must cover ethics.

9. Renew your Alaska CPA License Every Two Years

To maintain your CPA license in Indiana, you will need to renew your license every two years. All licenses expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years regardless of when first issued.

Estimated Cost: 905 USD

Other Posts You'll Like...

Want to Pass as Fast as Possible?

(and avoid failing sections?)

Watch one of our free "Study Hacks" trainings for a free walkthrough of the SuperfastCPA study methods that have helped so many candidates pass their sections faster and avoid failing scores...

Scroll to Top
[523.251,1046.50]
[523.251,1046.50]