How to Become a CPA in Utah

How to Become a CPA in Utah

Share This...

If you’re wondering how to become a CPA in Utah, we’ve organized the Utah CPA exam requirements below.

1. Meet the Education Requirements to Sit for the CPA Exam.

To meet the Utah CPA education requirements to sit for the CPA exam, you’ll need to have a bachelor’s degree and a total of 120 semester hours. 24 semester hours in accounting that include Managerial Accounting, Financial Accounting, Taxation, and Audit. 24 semester hours in non-accounting business or related courses covering business law, computers, economics, business ethics, finance, business statistics, quantitative methods, written and oral business communications, business administration such as marketing, production, management, policy, or organizational behavior.

2. Set up your NASBA Account

The first step to determining your eligibility is to register an account at CPA Central.

3. Apply for a NASBA Advisory Evaluation

Then submit the necessary educational requirements to NASBA Advisory Evaluation at CPA Central and pay the $145 initial application fee.

4. Submit Transcripts

You would need to have your college or university send your official transcripts through mail at:

CPA Examination Services – UT
PO Box 198469
Nashville, TN 37219

Or email it at etranscript@nasba.org

5. Pay NASBA Fees

Once your educational requirements have been approved by NASBA advisory evaluation, NASBA will then send you an email notifying you that your payment coupon is ready for payment. You have 90 days to pay the fee.

Click here to see a breakdown of the Utah CPA exam costs.

6. Notice To Schedule

Upon payment for the examination fees, you will receive a receipt of your NTS. Make sure that everything is correct as it will be used at the testing centers. If the names do not match, immediately contact the Board to request a correction. You will not be allowed to test if the name on the identification documents does not exactly match the name on the NTS.

With the NTS, then you can schedule your actual exam on the Prometric website at www.prometric.com.
You will have six months to apply and sit for your first portion of the CPA exam.

7. Pass the CPA Exam

Once you pass the first CPA exam section, you’ll have 18 months to pass the remaining 3 sections.

8. Complete the Experience Requirement

To meet the Utah CPA experience requirements, you must meet 2,000 hours documented by a licensed CPA. During this period, you should apply your auditing and accounting skills in addition to any other applicable competencies. Once complete, you and your supervisor will submit a Certification for Accounting Experience for Licensure form to the Utah Board.

Utah requires candidates to have experience before they can issue the license. Usually, this experience includes providing any type of service that uses accounting, compilation, advisory, tax, or consulting.

The supervisor must complete the Supervisor Evaluation Form.

9. Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam

After passing the CPA exam, the candidate must also meet the Utah CPA ethics exam requirements by taking one additional test: the AICPA’s Ethics exam. The association offers an 11-hour self-study course, after which you can take the open-book test. The Ethics Examination is not expected to be particularly tough, but you must pass with a minimum score of 90 to get your license.

You can purchase the Ethics Exam directly from the UACPA for $110.

10. Pass the Utah CPA Law and Rules Examination

You must apply directly to PSI Examination Services to avail the test.

11. Apply for your Utah CPA License

After you have completed your professional education, passed the exams, and retain the necessary work experience, you have fulfilled a majority of the CPA exam requirements. You’ll need to fillup the CPA Licensure Application form and pay the $85 application fee which is to be submitted at any of these two options:

In-person or via express delivery:
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Heber M Wells Building, 1st Floor Lobby
160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

OR
US Postal Service:
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
PO BOX 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

12. Receiving your Utah CPA License

Now that you have completed all the necessary steps to be a Certified Public Accountant in Utah. You will be notified by Utah’s Board of Accountancy of any missing documents in your application. If the application is complete, you’ll be issued a license allowing you to practice. Your certificate will be sent to you through the mail.

Estimated Cost: 905 USD

Other Posts You'll Like...

Want to Pass as Fast as Possible?

(and avoid failing sections?)

Watch one of our free "Study Hacks" trainings for a free walkthrough of the SuperfastCPA study methods that have helped so many candidates pass their sections faster and avoid failing scores...

Scroll to Top
[523.251,1046.50]
[523.251,1046.50]