1. Meet the Education Requirements to Sit for the CPA Exam
Applicants who wish to be eligible to take the CPA exam will first need to pass the Connecticut CPA education requirements. An applicant must have a baccalaureate degree with at least 46 semester hours in the study of accounting and related subjects which should also include but is not limited to 24 semester hours in accounting and at least one of each in a business law course, an economics course and one finance course. However, to apply for a license, applicants are expected to have completed 150 semester hours with 36 semester hours in accounting, 30 semester hours in economics or business courses other than accounting and 60 semester hours in general education.
2. Apply for the Uniform CPA Exam
When you’ve met the education requirements, register with NASBA to apply for the CPA exam. Have all your official transcripts sent directly from your college or university to CPA Examination Services – CT, PO Box 198469, Nashville, TN 37219. If your school offers official electronic transcripts, they may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
3. Pay for the Uniform CPA Exam
Pay all fees at the time of application to NASBA. First-time applicants are required to pay both an application fee of $170 and an examination fee per exam of $238.15. Re-examination applicants (re-takes for failed sections) will pay a registration fee of $85 and the same examination fee of $238.15.
4. Notice to Schedule (NTS)
Wait for your application to be approved and once accepted, NASBA will email or mail you the Notice to Schedule (NTS). Upon receiving the NTS, schedule your exam online through Prometric. You are able to apply for one or more sections of the examination at a time. The NTS is valid for one testing event or six months and must be presented for entry at the testing center.
5. Pass the Uniform CPA Exam
There are four sections in the exam: Auditing and Attestation (AUD), Business Environment and Concepts (BEC), Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) and Regulation (REG). You must pass each section with a score of 75 or higher, and after passing your first section, you must pass the remaining three exams within 18 months.
6. Gain Necessary Experience
To meet the Connecticut CPA experience requirements, candidates must acquire sufficient work experience in order to apply and become a licensed CPA. Applicants who took the CPA Exam after January 1, 2000 will need to accomplish a minimum of 2 years. As for those who took the exam after January 1, 2000, the minimum work experience is 3 years. Document and have the experience verified through this form and include it upon the applying for the license.
7. Ethics Requirement
As part of the license application, candidates must also meet the Connecticut CPA ethics exam requirements by completing the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs self-study Comprehensive Course for Certification. In completing the course, applicants must score 90 or higher. Visit CTCPA for more details.
8. Apply for a CPA License
Connecticut applicants will need to apply for their licenses online. Applicants will have to submit their education transcripts, experience form and ethics course completion upon applying for said license.
9. CPA License Renewal
CPA licenses in Connecticut are to be renewed annually as they expire on December 31st of each year. To be able to renew a CPA license, all license holders will have to undergo Continuing Professional Education (CPE). A renewal notice will be sent approximately 30 to 45 days prior to the expiration date of each license.
10. Continuing Professional Education (CPE)
License holders are required to have 40 hours of CPE which is to be completed every fiscal year from July 1 through June 30 and must be reported to the board by December 31st of every year as part of the renewal process. It is the CPA’s responsibility to maintain CPE records and these should be kept for at least three years for future audit purposes by the board.
Estimated Cost: 951 USD